Rae Trahan is no longer the Lafayette Parish School Board member with the worst attendance record.
                                                   Photo Illustration

The title of tardiest board member is now held by District 2 rep Tommy Angelle, according to recent LPSS data compiled by IND Monthly. The time period spans from Jan. 1 through Nov. 28 and takes into account all scheduled meetings of the board, including special meetings, regular meetings, workshops and committee assignments.

District 9's Trahan made the cover of the IND’s Aug. 1 issue in a story titled “Missing Inaction.” Since that publication, Trahan has only missed one meeting, bringing her total absences for 2012 up to 18.

Not to be outdone by his fellow school board member, Angelle surpassed Trahan’s absence total in late-August. He now has 21 absences logged for the year.

Here is how the nine school board members’ attendance records stack up:
- Tehmi Chassion = 13    
- Hunter Beasley = 3
- Mark Cockerham = 3
- Kermit Bouillion = 0
- Shelton Cobb = 0
- Tommy Angelle = 21
- Rae Trahan = 18
- Greg Awbrey = 14
- Mark Babineaux = 5

To post a comment, please log into your IND account. If you do not have an account, click the "register" button to create one. Facebook comments can be used as an alternative to creating an account at theIND.com.

feed-image RSS Feed
LA LA Land

Read the Flipping Paper!

Click Here for the Entire Print Version of
IND Monthly