The Lafayette City-Parish Council will be sworn in for a four-year term at 3 p.m. today during a ceremony at City Hall. Two new council members, both of them Naquins — Kevin from District 1, who replaces Mary Morrison, and Andy in District 6, who defeated Sam Doré in the primary and won a runoff against Jared Doise — will join seven incumbents who either won re-election or were unopposed last fall.

Things should get interesting later at the first regular council meeting for the new panel, during which the president and vice president for both the council and the Lafayette Public Utilities Authority — the governing body for Lafayette Utilities System — will be elected. A source close to the council tells The Ind that District 3’s Brandon Shelvin, a Democrat, and District 5 Republican Jared Bellard are both gunning for the council presidency, although there’s no doubt been plenty of jockeying and deal-making among council members as the vote approaches.

The council meeting and election of leaders begins at 5:30 p.m. in the council auditorium. The election is the first item on the agenda.

See the full agenda here.

To post a comment, please log into your IND account. If you do not have an account, click the "register" button to create one. Facebook comments can be used as an alternative to creating an account at

LA LA Land

Read the Flipping Paper!

Click Here for the Entire Print Version of
IND Monthly